A Celebration of the Concerto with RAM Students

Join us on 19 March
A Greek figurative drawing with people playing musical instruments

Free, no booking required.

Date & Time

Sunday, 19 March 2023
7 pm
duration: 1hr


All Saints Church Tooting
Brudenell Road
SW17 8DQ

Elizabeth Knatt, Aya Robertson, Nathan Giorgetti

A Celebration of the Concerto

Students of the Historical Performance at the Royal Academy of Music play baroque concertos by Vivaldi, Benda and Telemann, with a small ensemble of their Friends.


Elizabeth Knatt, recorder
Aya Robertson, harpsichord
Nathan Giorgetti, viola da gamba


May Robertson, Jenny Clare, violins
Melissa Doody, viola
Lucine Musaelian, viola da gamba


Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741)
Recorder Concerto in C minor, RV 441

I. Allegro non molto
II. Largo
III. [Allegro]

Soloist: Elizabeth Knatt

Jiří Antonín Benda (1722–1795)
Harpsichord Concerto in F major

I. Allegro
II. Andantino quasi allegretto
III. Allegro assai, piú presto

Soloist: Aya Robertson

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681–1767)
Concerto for Recorder and Viola da Gamba, TWV 52:a1

I. Grave
II. Allegro
III. Dolce
IV. Allegro

Soloists: Nathan Giorgetti, Elizabeth Knatt


Lizzie Knatt

Recorder player Lizzie Knatt’s work spans the worlds of early music and contemporary performance, and she particularly enjoys collaborating with composers to expand the repertoire of the instrument. As an accomplished interpreter of early music, Lizzie recently performed in an all-Bach programme at the Wigmore Hall with Rachel Podger.
Lizzie studies recorder with Anna Stegmann and baroque bassoon with Peter Whelan at the Royal Academy of Music, London. She is a graduate of the University of Birmingham, where she was awarded the Arnold Goldsborough Memorial Prize for her final recital.
Lizzie is grateful for the support of the Charlotte Fraser Foundation and Humphrey Richardson Taylor Charitable Trust.

Aya Robertson

Aya Robertson is a Japanese-Canadian keyboardist, specialising in Baroque and Classical opera. While completing her BMus in piano at the University of Victoria in Canada, she was accepted to the Mozarteum Internationale Sommerakadmie to study fortepiano with Robert Levin. Shortly afterwards, Aya moved to London where she completed a Professional Diploma in Repetiteurship at the Royal Academy of Music. She was subsequently appointed as a Fellow of the Academy as a Repetiteur from 2020 to 2022, working under Brenda Hurley. While in the opera department, Aya has worked with distinguished conductors such as Laurence Cummings, Ryan Wigglesworth, Elizabeth Kenny, and Alice Farnham. Currently, Aya is completing her MA in Harpsichord and Fortepiano at the Royal Academy of Music studying with Carole Cerasi, and James Johnstone. She will return in September 2023 to complete a Professional Diploma in fortepiano.

Nathan Giorgetti

Nathan Giorgetti is currently a Masters student at the Royal Academy of Music, where he specialises in historical performance on the Viola da Gamba and Baroque Cello with Jonathan Manson. Nathan has worked with leading exponents of early music, including Philipe Herreweghe, Rachel Podger, Michael Chance, Matthew Truscott and Pavlo Beznosiuk.
In 2021 Nathan co-founded the Tufnell Trio at RAM, which specialises in baroque and classical repertoire on period instruments. The trio has won the RAM Nancy Nuttall chamber music competition, and have been selected for Brighton Early Music Festival’s BREMF Live! scheme for 2022/23.
He was a founding member of the Portorius Quartet, which was active until 2020 and performed at Barbican Hall, LSO St Luke’s, Cadogan Hall, and Milton Court concert hall in the UK, as well as venues in France and Bulgaria.

Keep in touch

Our sporadic newsletter is free to join – subscribe now to stay informed about concerts, new releases and upcoming projects.

Thank you! You have successfully subscribed. Please look out for a message from us soon!

Notify me when available Please leave your valid email address (and a mobile number if you wish) to be notified when tickets become available.